Legend of the Mountain Review

legend-of-the-mountains-poster      Legend of the Mountain was a good movie.  Unlike other King Hu films, this one took a different approach.  The film had ghosts roaming around a temple.  The film was entertaining that included some mystery to it that made it interesting.  I really liked the build up in the film where we as the viewers, did not know who was the ghost.  I was hooked on what was going to happen in the film.  I was glad King Hu did not rely on using his marital arts.  The sceneries were stunning.  The mountains, the forest, the riverbanks were all so serene.  It was a place where I could see myself going to relax and relieve all my stresses.  One thing that I thought was funny was when Ho and Melody had sex.  It was an unlikely event in a King Hu film.  As for the negatives, I thought the ending was a bit anticlimactic.  I did not expect all the ghost characters to all go back to the spiritual world.  In addition Ho having just walking to a cliff was a weird way to end the film.  But other than that I really enjoy this film overall.

legend-of-the-mountains-pic-4legend-of-the-mountains-pic-3

lengend-of-the-mountains-pic-2

Leave a Reply

